Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Zoos used to be very popular, but now they are becoming faded. Because the artificial habitats are not suitable for many species and there are some accuses of exploiting entertainment, many people believe that zoos should be closed as soon as possible. Establishing more wildlife sanctuaries and rehabilitation centres would be a good solution if zoos are removed. Zoos no longer bring benefits such as education or conservation to people. In contrast, it causes a lot of criticisms about whether government should close them. The artificial environments cause physical problems and psychological distress to animals. Lack of space will make some species become uncomfortable and affect on their health. Furthermore, some businesses make a profit from animals and visitors. That is why the educational value of zoos is debated. Wildlife sanctuaries and rehabilitation centres, where animals are provided with more spacious and natural habitats. Advances in virtual and augmented reality technology offer immersive and impactful educational experiences, enabling people to learn about animals in their natural environments without causing harm. Conservation-focused ecotourism gives people the opportunity to observe wildlife in its natural habitat under controlled, ethical guidelines, supporting local communities and conservation efforts. Lastly, comprehensive and accessible wildlife documentaries and educational platforms can significantly contribute to conservation education, fostering a deeper understanding and respect for wildlife without the need for physical confinement. To sum up, zoos should be closed because of the impacts on animals and be altered by sanctuaries or rehabilitation centres.