Governments should make public transportation free in order to reduce the number of private vehicles on roads, therefore leading to lower carbon emissions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Air pollution is a significant public issue worldwide. The popular solution is to discuss whether governments should provide free transportation to residents. In my view, I suppose to offer free public transportation can help reduce air pollution. The government should implement a policy of free public transportation. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages. The free transport policy has many benefits that can be attributed to several reasons. Firstly, some people believe that strengthening mass transportation can effectively reduce CO2 emissions from people's movement. According to WHO. The study shows offer free public bus services to urban residents can reduce CO2 emissions by at least 28%. Additionally, implementing a free transportation policy by the government can decrease the occurrence of traffic jams. Excessive use of private vehicles leads to an increase in carbon dioxide emissions and heavy traffic. During implement free transport policy, people are more likely to use public transportation instead of driving private cars. In spite of the advantages mentioned above, the disadvantages should not be ignored. Firstly, the government's offer of free transportation policy will grew financial burden. The operation of public transportation requires a significant amount of funding to support. If the government is unable to collect money from its citizens, the country will face significant financial challenges. Secondly, it may cause urban-rural disparity. If the government's expenditure on reducing free transportation may reduce the number of buses in the countryside, making it impossible for rural people to use them. In concussion, government offer free transportation has many benefits such as reducing air pollution and traffic jam, but some negative impacts should not be ignored for example it increase national costs, Harm the interests of rural residents. To sum up, there are always two sides to every issue, and this topic is no exception, let based on the arguments above,I,on balance, am of the opinion that positive effects still carry more weight that negative impacts. I believe government should implement free public transport policy.