Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages.

Today, many scientists argue that it is more preferable for children to be taught a second language in the early years of school instead of secondary ones. This essay will argue that the benefits of learning a new foreign language will outweigh its drawbacks. Learning another language for young children who have not experienced a busy life as well as have an empty mind to be filled by new languages are the main reasons for its advantages while some people believe that learning at early ages could be harmful to children's future. First of all, a lot of children have a mind that can learn new things in the fastest and quickest way. Since youngsters' minds are wired to learn new things at an early age, when they are faced with a new language's grammar and vocabulary, they can learn without any concerns, while the vast majority of adults will have difficulty learning new things because of their exhausted minds. For instance, based on a survey in Iran in 2015, the learning rate of adults in comparison to children in primary schools was three-quarters lower than them. Second of all, daily basis and workloads will create an atmosphere with a lot of stress without any free time but young individuals do not experience this situation and have more free time for themselves that they can only focus on learning. However, when they are in secondary school they face with different tasks which bring them a lot of tension and stress. For example, in my school, about 75% of students in secondary schools only have free time on weekends when they have to do their homework for the next week and they do not have free time for other activities. Some people believe that if children are taught at an early age before going to a higher level of education, this situation could be harmful. Since a lot of youngsters need to play and have free time for themselves, learning a language other than their mother tongue language can create a situation in which children only have to learn and do not have enough time for playing, so they are threatened by some mental illness. However, these days most methods for teaching other languages are based on playing games which means that it can not only be more effective but also can be joyful for young pupils. For example, learning English by watching a musical theater in primary schools in Iran is known as one of the best ways to learn English. In conclusion, learning a language rather than our mother tongue at an early age has more benefits instead of its drawbacks in accordance to children having more free time for learning and their fresh mind for new things. However, learning a new language at primary school is not harmful to children because of new methods of teaching.