A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

The problem of distributing government funds has been long debated. Often it is a question of whether to allocate them to public safety or social needs. Through both are important, I favor the later, and in this essay the reasons for that will be covered. First and foremost, a country is a social institution and it should take care of its citizens, aiming to provide the highest level of life possible. The most direct way to do that is to give resources to the population in the form of benefits. Satisfied and wealthy citizens are what make a country great in the long run. On the other hand, a state should ensure the safety of its population, and that requires funds to be spent on the military, the police and on other institutions that protect the people from a variety of threats. Even in peaceful times, the state should do everything in its power to fight crime inside the country and patrol its outer borders, so that the basic need of the population - the need for safely - is met. Finally, I believe that a country may face threats from time to time and that the need to respond to these threats can be rationalized. But funding a large military force cannot be justified, when it has no clear enemies. The same amount of money should be invested into something that can provide an economic boost in future, for example in science, education or cutting-edge technology. Distributing the funds to the population in the form of benefits is one way of achieving it. To sum up, I believe that both types of expenses, social and military, are crucial, but under normal circumstances I would not sacrifice the first for the later.