Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is it a negative or positive development? Give your explanation using some relevant examples from your experience.

In today's era, parents tend to put their children under a lot of pressure for success. Some people believe it is better for the children's future and others believe it will do more harms to the children. There are various reasons why parents are more and more success driven. In my opinion, it is a negative development which i will elaborate in this essay. It is true children are living in a more competative world compare to their parents. These days children have to compete with technologies that are far more advanced. Therefore, their parents are putting more and more pressure on children to perform better and to be successful. Another reason is that parents solely depends on their children's success for their retirement. For example, China have single child policy, therefore their parents can only depend on one child's future. Thus, putting pressure on the child is gurantee guaranteed of parents future retirement life. For those reasons above, parents heavily depends on their children's sucess. On the one hand, it raised awareness of children's education quality and overall. On the other hand, it is drastically damaging their mental health. Students suicide rates has gone up, more and more needs for school counselling. It is putting the children on pedestal, not care for what the children want but only value success by society standards. Because of that, i think it is a negative development for children. All in all, there are reasons why parents put so much pressure on their children to succeed. But it drawbacks weigh more than the benefits.