In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is ongoing discourse on whether, during the university years, going to other countries is best or not. While some people might argue that living in one's hometown while studying has advantages; however, I firmly believe that living away from home during university has more advantages than staying in one's hometown. First and foremost, attending university in another city opens doors for students by broadening their perspectives. Often, individuals do not have many chances to expose themselves to unfamiliar circumstances. However, going to a university in another city grants students access to expand their network and explore career opportunities. For instance, a friend of mine, a business consultant, went to study abroad in New York City, the United States, from Tokyo, Japan. During his interactions with people from diverse backgrounds, he eventually realized that he could see things from others' perspectives and gained a deeper understanding and empathy. Thus, studying in another city facilitates the journey of understanding by offering opportunities to meet other people. On the other hand, attending university in one's hometown affords students opportunities to save money. While many students face financial issues, those living in their hometown do not need to seek new accommodation, which can be quite costly. According to recent research by McKinsey & Company, students who go to a university near their hometown save more money than those who live away from home during their studies. In this regard, staying in one's hometown during university years paves the way for students to have financial benefits. In my view, broadening perspectives rather than merely saving money should be the main priority in this global era. Enhancing one's perspectives can lead to not only uncovering new viewpoints but also personal satisfaction, significantly enhancing an individual's value. In conclusion, while living at home with their family while they study allows students to reduce expenditure. However, I believe that uncovering new perspectives should be prioritized.