The government should pay for the course fees for everyone who wants to study at university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally agreed that the more educated citizens are, the more prosperous the state becomes. It leads to the discussion whether the government should allocate resources to fund all of those who want to get higher education. I firmly believe that the authorities are obliged to sponsor talented students, while less gifted applicants should cover tuition fees by themselves. The first argument in favour of funding prodigies’ studies is that they have a great potential to pay back to the society with their knowledge. To cite an example, if a gifted programmer is given an opportunity to graduate from a prestigious University, he will master his skills to contribute to the development of his country in the scientific field. Therefore, not only are governmental scholarships beneficial for the individuals who get them, but also for the whole nation. The second argument is that typically the authorities have limited resources to spend on education, so funding everyone’s aspiration to enter higher educational facilities is barely possible. Hence, I assume it is fair to prioritise the needs of those who have shown more potential to make the world a better place. When granted scholarships, they can benefit more from their studies than their less knowledgeable peers. It might be argued that this approach discriminates average students, who have not performed exceptionally well on their exams. However, I reckon there are multiple ways for such people to pay for themselves. For instance, a wide range of student loans is available, not to mention that students may work part-time to afford their courses. To conclude, while some say that everyone should get scholarships from the government, I find it virtually impossible in terms of economy. That is why I stand for financing only the most promising students, as they are more likely to contribute to the welfare of their country.