For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but is a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, since technology has developed significantly, the meaning of shopping has also changed. Although shopping is a way to purchase required items and clothes, it has become popular for entertainment purposes. According to my perspective, it can be both a positive and a negative development and I will justify the reasons behind this in the upcoming paragraphs. The first and foremost cause behind its positive impact is spending time with family while shopping. For instance, being workaholics, individuals are unable to spend their precious time with family members as from Monday to Friday, they devote their time to their profession. On the weekends, going shopping is preferred by folks, in this way, they not only do shopping but also attain an opportunity to invest some valuable time with their loved ones. Consequently, this activity makes them feel relaxed and rejuvenated. However, despite having certain positive effects, there are some negative consequences of this thing. First of all, individuals can waste their money in this way. For example, if a person goes for shopping every weekend for an entertainment purpose, that person could purchase unnecessary things as well while moving around in the shopping mall as things can attract by their styles. Moreover, in shopping centers, every store highlights their discount on the doors which can encourage anybody to shop. As a result, at the end of the month, some individuals are left with little money in their hands owing to spending on unimportant items. In conclusion, though shopping can be a way to entertain ourselves, individuals had better not to utilize their valuable money on the things that they do not need. I think, people can enjoy their weekend more by doing some outdoor activities that are helpful for their physical and mental health.