In some countries, the number of people who visits art gallery is declining. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve this problem?

In number of nations, museums are losing its importance. The main causes of this are the expensive tickets and a lack of preventive actions, and some suggest to overcome these issues are for institutions to reduce its prices and for governments to extend the financial aid. There are two main factors that contribute to reduce in number of visitors to museums. The first reason is that the price of the tickets are very high. Many art galleries are operated by trusts and independent owners who are unable to maintain the exhibits without collecting enough money. As a result, they charge from the visitors. The second reason is that there is a lack of maintenance. That is to say, the artifacts exhibit in the museum need regular cleaning, and the buildings require repair work because of its wear and tear. Hence, due to improper maintenance of the art gallery, people do not show interest in visiting them. For example, in India, the Birla Museum, which exhibits the artefacts such as the pots, the clay toys that had used in ancient period loss its effectiveness due to a lack of maintenance. In order to tackle these issues, it is important for institutions and governments to take actions against them. Firstly, the price of the tickets should be reduced. Local people and tourtists will show more enthusiasm to visit art galleries provided that the cost of the tickets are reasonable because they have other choices of entertainment. Therefore, institutions can obtain grants as charity from business owners and can reduce the cost of entrance fees. Secondly, governments should provide finacial support for the museums that are in need. Those funds will help to run them as they can cover the operational costs. For instance, the Birla Museum has been thriving successfully nowadays after the intervension of the state to provide the financial aid. In conclusion, I believe that museums are not getting attention because the value of the tickets are higher and a lack of maintainance, and some ways to tackle these downsides are for institutions to reduce its prices and for governments to support funds.