A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed by many that personal fitness is an individual's own responsibility and not a part of governmental responsibilities. However, I disagree with this sentiment and believe that while people do bear some responsibility for their health, the government should also take part in providing accessible Healthcare to its citizens, as health individuals are valuable contributors to economic growth and without regulations, false advertisements hinder their efforts to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Having members who are disease-free and physically fit is an invaluable asset to the government of any country. Without the presence of healthy individuals, the money and time spent on important issues such as country security and education will be wasted. Spending money on better teaching equipment, for example, would be a futile endeavour in the absence of physically fit teachers. For this reason, It is imperative that the government allocates funds to exercise programs and educational initiatives that equip citizens with the necessary tools to uphold a healthy lifestyle. The increasing prevalence of junk food advertisements, coupled with false advertisements have had detrimental effects on personal nutrition. Companies such as Kellogg's cereal, falsely exaggerate the nutritional benefits provided by their cereals, similarly, fast food companies such as McDonald's consistently advertise their products without disclosing their nutritional information. Consequently, this leaves the average citizen blindsighted and misguided about nutrition. Therefore, without strict regulations on false advertisements by the state, maintaining a healthy life becomes unachievable. In conclusion, personal health is a multifaceted issue that necessitates collaboration between individuals and the government. Regulations on food advertisements and the allocation of funds to nutritional programs can prove invaluable in promoting personal health.