Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems, sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Many local and International consumer goods companies use sugar to flavor their food and drinks, which arises many health issues, sugar included consumer goods should be made at high prices to motivate consumers to consume less sugar. I totally agree with this statement because I believe that people who are addicted to sugar cannot be discouraged due to sugar containing products are more expensive. They will buy it whatever the price mark in the product. and marketing campaigns run by consumer goods companies attract customers while their products are expensive. In our society many of people addicted to sugar containing products since their childhood therefore it is not easy to discourage them by increasing the price of the consumer products. They don’t consider the price increasement of the products. as an example when the Elephant House Beverages and Ice Cream increased their prices in 2021 due to the economic crisis and inflation however their sales and market share have not been changed. Consumer goods companies run huge marketing campaigns via TV commercial, Social media using celebrates in society therefore people always tend to buy their products without considering the price tag. For an example, Nestle company telecasted a TV commercial for milo drink featuring a famous cricketer in Sri Lanka therefore many of schoolchildren prefer to drink sugar containing drink like milo rather than the nutritious drinks like king coconut or fresh juice.