Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

With the development of technology, most people are flooded with much information which result in a situation that they do not have enough time to communicate with people around them. Also, nowadays people would need more and more time to be with themselves. Therefore, the relationship which is closet to their families got affected and they are not that close with each other as usual. In the following paragraph, I would demonstrate the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the advantages. Firstly, when people do not have enough support from their closet relationship, they tend to be lonely and helpless. This would lead them to face many desparate situation and do not know what to do. According to Maslow's hierarchy of needs, there are physiological needs, safety needs, belongingness and love needs, esteem needs and self-actualization. After people fulfill their physiological needs such as food, water, warmth and rest and safety needs, they tend to look for belongingness and love needs. And the relationship with their familiers is a part of these needs. Familiers could provide them support that friends and intimate relationships can not do. They are the people that they grew up with and they had been living for many years before they move out. In this case of living without families ' support, it can lead to different kinds of mental illness. Secondly, when people do not spend time with their families as usual. They kind of forget their roots which means they do not know their own identity. Families can remind you and probably offer you reassurance about who you are. In summary, I argue that the drawbacks of being close with familiers are more than the advantages. It is important to spend some time with our families and get to know who we are and different roles of ourselves.