Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Some companies made their staff adhere to rules and wear uniforms during their work hours without fail. While the advantages of this are the fact that it upholds the company identity and provides free marketing, the disadvantages are the staff cannot be themselves while in the uniforms and lack of personal identity. The benefit of making it compulsory for staff to wear company uniforms is to ensure that the public knows which entities they are representing. Some workers need to go visit people’s houses for post-service care and enquiries, so it is more convincing and puts the homeowners at ease as compared to when strangers in usual clothes come into their houses. The staff wearing the uniforms also acts as a promotion for their service. This creates a sense of familiarity and the public usually will choose the service that they feel more familiar with, as they feel more confident with them. For example, more staff for delivery companies give confidence to consumers that they can provide better services to deliver fast compared to small companies. However, the condition comes with some drawbacks. The employees cannot be themselves when they are in their uniforms. Sometimes people face difficulties and hardships during work but they must remain composed without overreacting. Wearing uniforms also prevents people from having their own identity. Worker is not permitted to wear clothes of their own and only be known as workers most of the time. For instance, some women can look sweet and beautiful if they are allowed to wear bright clothes but now only wear uniforms if they are working. In summary, while the benefits of wearing a uniform are beneficial to maintaining the face of the company and providing marketing, it has drawbacks of people not being themselves and lack of personal identities.