For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but is a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Public concern has arisen about whether shopping as an entertainment is a good change or it has some drawbacks. I tend to believe, that shopping should be only done when it is needed. The primary factor we need to take into consideration is that most of the things, that are bought, end up in dumpsters and are not recycled. This leads to overconsumption, which is one of the main causes of climate change, consequently to the loss of biodiversity, since animals' natural habitats are being constantly destroyed. As a result, things, that only make us satisfied for a short time, are the cause of worldwide problems. Moreover, to keep up with high demand, factories have to produce a lot of stuff, which requires a lot of natural resources. In some time those resources become exhausted and we start lacking them. It is obvious that this type of entertainment is the opposite of environmentally friendly. On the other hand, when buying things, some people tend to find happiness, which is significant for their mental health and wellness overall. Especially, when the weather is not satisfying enough to go out for some outdoor activities, individuals need another way to spend their free time in order not to feel depressed or lonely. Furthermore, people could be opting for window shopping. By doing so not only they are saving money, but also having Change the form of the verb have show examples a similar kind of experience. To sum up, shopping can lead to important environmental problems, thus it must not be done as a way of entertainment. Nevertheless, there are options how to do this activity without being wasteful.