In modern times, children are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

It has been observed that many children these days prefer to spend time with friends than their parents. This is because most modern parents are so dedicated to achieving their career goals that they do not have adequate time with their families. Although it is crucial to have family bonding, I personally do not think that parents should restrict their offspring to spending time only with them at home because this would limit their potential to become whoever they wish to be. One of the main reasons why it is trending that adolescents are now spending more time outdoors with their peers rather than with their families is that their parents choose to lead work-oriented lifestyles over those that are dedicated to families. When the amount of time spent with families is not proportionated with that spent on working, many parents fail to provide enough time to bond with their offspring, and as a result, children turn to their friends to enjoy their free time. For instance, rather than staying indoors, many affluent Gen Z in Cambodia are usually seen hanging out at cafes or going to a movie with friends during the weekend. Although this is the case, I personally do not think that children should be forcefully banned from outdoor activities. Doing so would limit their freedom to explore the world and potentially hinder them from transforming into the person they want to be in the future. For example, many high school students in Thailand volunteer in various charity events in order to help the communities as well as explore what they really want to do in life. I personally think that adolescents with this kind of mindset would grow into well-rounded citizens, contributing significantly to their societies and their nation. To conclude, it is mainly because of the parents ’ busy working schedule which does not enable them to spend sufficient time with their offspring, resulting in them choosing to go out with their peers. Even though it is believed that children should stay home and bond with their parents, I do not think that it is right to keep children indoors all the time as exposing them to the outside world would enable them to achieve self-realisation, and in the end, are determined to attain their future goals.