Giving detailed description of crimes in newspapers and on television has bad consequences. Some people therefore suggest that the government should impose restrictions on them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that broadcasting some violent scenes of assault and crimes, being committed here and there might have an immeasurable negative impact on society. There is an opinion that such content needs to be restricted to some point by the power of the government. This essay strongly agrees with that idea. The audience which becomes witnesses of such shows or TV programmes cannot be controlled. Children and teenagers can accidentally spot that on television or read in some other media, newspapers or magazines, which can terribly affect their mental state and cause a high level of stress and anxiety. It happens because the youth tends to believe the information they see or hear in popular resources. For example, a recent survey by Moscow State University has proved that a higher number of students, who watch the news, feel more anxious and worried than their peers who do not. The majority of those, interested in detailed descriptions of cruel crimes, are getting addicted to it. This content provokes negative feelings which some people tend to enjoy from time to time. That might sound a bit odd but there is an increasing amount of those who watch such shows, while eating or after a mind-numbingly day at work, just to relax. It seems to me that it is a quite disadvantageous outcome as it might lead to unforeseen results. They might start thinking that breaking the law is something ordinary. For instance, the latest research, held among the British population, has shown that there is a rising number of those who choose it as way of a rest. To sum up, I would like to point out once again that such programmes or newspapers will not have a beneficial effect on anyone. The government should take steps to impose some restricting measures on them.