There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there are pressure for young people to have good school results in academic subjects. It is difficult for young people to get to university and to find work after education. So some people think that non-academic subjects are not as good for children to learn at school and they should only do academic subjects. I disagree with this statement and think non-academic subjects are also good for learning and developing children. Firstly I think that school is not only a place for learning academic subjects and that other subjects can be very useful at school. For example, when children learn physical education it is not only academic learning but also other things. Also, children can learn how can they be in good health and this is important for their life. Because many people have obesity and this is not a good situation. If children learn physical education they would not have obesity as much. Secondly, I think that it is useful for school for teaching other things at school like cookery. I think that this is a good skill for people to learn for their health and also there are many jobs with cookery. For example, maybe you can open a restaurant or have different cooking work. Therefore this is a good situation for some children and is good for learning non-academic subjects. In conclusion, I think that children can learn academic and non-academic subjects and school and this is the best thing for children. however, maybe there can be after- school lessons or clubs for children to learn skills and teachings that are non-academic and be more academic during school time.