share of income earned by top 1 percent, 1975-2015

The line graph delineates the proportion of income earned by the top one percent, namely the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Italy, Germany, France and Japan from 1975 to 2015, measured in percent. Overall, there was a progressive growth pattern witnessed in all datasets,with the most drastic hike witnessed in the amount of income earned in the United States. In addition, the proportion of income in the United States generally had by far the highest figure throughout the period. The share of income in the United States started at around 7%, after which it saw an exponential climb to under 20% in the year end detailed. A similar change can be seen in the figure of income in the United Kingdom and Canada, which increased from approximately 7% to around 13% in 40 years. The data of income in Germany started at above 10%, after which it witnessed a variance between 11% and 8% in 2000, and a subsequent climb to around 14% in 2015. Similarly, the figure for the income earned in France was at merely 7%, followed by a slight acceleration to 9%. Finally, the data of income in both Italy and Japan saw a similar change, increasing from nearly 6% to around 9% in the year end examined.