Some people think that parents have a great influence on their children. Others believe that the media is a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Opinion is divided with one group believing that parental figures have the most impact on the development of their offspring whereas others are of the view that broadcasted communication has far more impact. This essay will consider both points of view and then provide my perspective which is that both have a part to play. There are two main points supporting the contention that parents play the biggest part in a child’s development. The main reason for believing this is that parents are best placed to model appropriate behaviour. Children living in close proximity to their parents are directly exposed to the behaviour exhibited by those whom they admire the most. It is also possible to say that children will learn basic budgetary skills from their parents which are essential to their survival as adults. Through observation, children will learn appropriate ways to spend and save money which will guide them throughout their future lives. On the other hand, it is also possible to make an opposing case. It is often argued that multi-media such as television directly impacts children ’s behaviour. Watching war movies, for instance, inspires children and glorifies violence. The proof is evident all around us as increased displays of gratuitous violence seem to go hand in hand with increasing rates of violent crimes being committed by young people. An additional point is the clothing preferences of children. A particularly good example here is the fact that children always pressure parents to buy clothing displaying their superheroes which is a clear demonstration of how influential the media is as parents would naturally want to buy the cheaper functional items. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that both parents and the media are both influential. This is because I feel that it is impossible to isolate children from outside influence and media brings that influence into children ’s homes.