The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

The majority of children has failed to read books in recent times for entertainment. In this essay, I will explore the causes for these problems, and I will suggest a way that children can read more. There are several causes that contribute for the absence of reading books among children. The primary one is that they have technology at homes to play games on-line. Nowadays, the internet has become common at homes, which allow them to play games with their friends as well as they make new friends on the internet so they do not bother to read story books. Another reason is that there is an increases in burden on education. In order to enhance the skills of students, schools have setup a competitive curicullum for them that needs a lot of effort by students to get high scores. Hence, parents offen offer advice their wards to study academic subjects only. For instance, in India, many institutions conduct more periodic exams to make their students get high scores compared to another school children. The more students prepare for the academic exams, the less they give importance to read books. To tackle this issues, institutions should conduct more competitions on literature. That is to say, these days, a number of schools are focusing on academic performance of the learners and they fails to develop a sense of competition among students. If they conduct a story telling competition, they will prepare for that which requires a regular reading for books. For example, a few universities in Singapore inspires their schoolgoers by conducting essay writing contest, which enables them to study more in native laguages and books. In conclusion, I believe that the reading of books have declined among students suddenly because they are influnced by online games and are overwhelmed by their studies, and I suggest that schools should persuade them by conducting many contests.