It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that people have been arguing for centuries about the nature of human talents. Some believe that the newborn is given birth with some kinds of talent and just waiting to be discovered, while others debate that every child can learn to be good at anything if given enough dedication and effort. In this essay, I will express my opinion on both these views and give the reasons why I think so. On the one hand, some people are indeed gifted even before they are given birth. For instance, medal-earning sprinting athletes are usually characterized by long legs and short torso. These characteristics is proven to give them a significant advantage compared to those with other body types. In fact, genetics does hold an essential role in deciding the mental and physical capacity of a human. No one has the same threshold, therefore, the performance of each individual is sure to be different even when exposed to a state-of-the-art education program. On the other hand, effort and dedication can sometimes outplay inborn talent. There have been instances of people born with inbred conditions that affect their performance in sports. Take the case of Evan Kim for example, at the time she was born, she was diagnosed with a condition that made her lungs have a lower volume capacity compared to those of a normal person. But with support from friends, family, and early training in long-distance running, she completed a full marathon in under 3 hours and earned the title of the fastest runner under 19 at just 12 years of age. Although genetics and talents play a crucial role in deciding the performance of an individual in certain fields, the willingness to learn and practice can make a difference. In my opinion, I believe that even though no one has the same starting point in life, there is nothing to ensure that a good start is equivalent to finishing in the first place. Therefore, take your chance to practice, grin,d and study, and you will soon see the fruits of your labor.