with the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more recources. to what extend do you agree?

Due to the increasing demand for fossil fuels, it is said that undiscovered areas should be used in order to obtain more resources. I totally disagree with the suggested statement since opening new spaces to exploitation would cause environmental harm and generate conflicts between powerful countries. The exploitation of spaces that might contain oil and gas will lead to the destruction of the environment. Furthermore, extracting these forms of energy to supply consumer societies causes important harm to the biosphere of untouched spaces. For instance, in the ISO (International Sea Organisation) 2024 study, the group discovered that, since the 2000s, the extraction of fossil resources in protected oceanic places has led to the death of 70% of the surrounding fauna as well as the extinction of certain species of plants. When exploiting new areas full of natural fossil energies, countries desire to have control of these spots. Moreover, these states tend to start conflicts in order to claim the locations of their desires. For example, in 2011, the ONU estimated that the Arctic sea still possesses more than 60% of natural gas and oil resources in the world. Because of this statement, powerful states near this sought-after place, such as Russia in addition to the United States of America, have started several conflicts in order to conquer the Arctic. This situation illustrates that opening new areas of utilization might create geopolitical tensions. To conclude, I wholeheartedly disagree with the suggested statement in consequence of the fact that it does not take into consideration the impact of exploitation on the environment and the geopolitical tensions it might lead to.