in the future nobody will buy printed nespapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

With the startling pace of technology development, publication is no longer just paper-based nowadays. I believe it is an inevitable trend that more and more people will read digital news or books. However, traditional way of reading should be encouraged too, therefore, the two forms should coexist to meet readers' needs. To begin with, reading online is economical and convenient thus gaining its popularity swiftly in today's world. For instance, by simply searching on the digital platforms, people can acquire the latest news on the topic they are interested in. With a little amount of subscription fee, readers can find their favourites and enjoy reading anytime anywhere. In addition, comparing the materials, digital pages are endurable for people to read their favourate literatures agian and again. Moreover, reducing paper-based printing is meanwhile reducing environmental harms. As we know, paper are made from trees, and deforestration causes floods and erosion. Undoubtedly, reading online can save the environment to certain extent. Despite the merits, it is well-known that radiation undermines eyesight if eyes are excessively exposed to screens on all sorts of digital devices. According to a survey in Japan, over 60% parents blamed the overuse of computers which increased the rate of children's shortsighted rate. Therefore, printed books should not be completely abandoned. Government should implement policies to develop the potential for a hybrid model where both digital and print coexist, catering to diverse consumer preferences, such as decrease the tax for publishing paper-based books. As a conclusion, I agree digital platforms play an important role in form people's reading habit in current era, but printed books should also be available in future.Schools and library should always have both options, government should also encourage people to enjoy reading in both ways.