Young people are highly influenced by famous people and they look up to them as role models. Is that a positive or negative development?

Young people are highly influenced by famous people and they look up to them as role models. Is that a positive or negative development? Nowadays, the majority of our young generations are following the celebrities on social media, especially the youngsters who are inspired by their lifestyles and want to emulate them. In my opinion, choosing a role model could have negative effects. The forthcoming essay shall discuss that the disadvantages of this issue outweigh the advantages. On one hand, following famous people might have several destructive effects on the children’s life. Firstly, individuals often share the bright sides of their live not their hardship. Adolescents would compare themselves to these luxurious lifestyles, which may lead them to feel inadequate. Secondly, the truth that each person has a unique gift could disappear because children do not focus on their abilities, they simply emulate the talents of well- known individuals, and if they do not succeed they may become depressed. Finally, some celebrities gain fame and wealth due to their inner gift, which are not necessarily the best option for teenager to choose as role models. For instance, Diego Maradona was an excellent football player but he did not follow a professional lifestyle, in contrast, he struggled with addiction during his golden career years. Despite this, his extraordinary talent helped him remain at the peak for many years. On the other hand, sometimes the young generations need a source of inspiration to motivate them and push them to follow their dreams. The teenagers could be inspired by reading the biographies of successful people and understanding their struggles. Moreover, believing in a famous person could boost their confidence and motivation. For instance, millions of people are influenced by Cristiano Ronaldo due to his remarkable performance on football field and his hardworking personality. In conclusion, it is wise for young people to choose role model aligned with their goals, but they must be careful in selecting right person.