Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a view stating that the increased extinction of particular species of animals and plants is the most important environmental problem of our days, while others, including me, believe that there are more serious issues. On the one hand, those who advocate for the seriousness of the loss of species might highlight the principle of niche. Niche is the environmental role that every living organism has, by which groups of species are classified into sections according to how they contribute to their habitat and their role in the food chain. For instance, thinking about the impacts that the loss of bees has on the environment, despite the disappearance of honey, bees play an important role in plant pollination; thus, their leaving the ecosystem will lead to a decline in agricultural production. Looking particularly at the notion of food chains, if a carnivore such as a lion suddenly disappeared, the number of herbivores would dramatically increase, leading to a lack of food supply, so they would either starve to death or die due to an epidemic among members of their populations. On the other hand, the reason behind the aforementioned ecological problem is actually another one with a greater threat. In other words, problems, such as deforestation, are the main reasons for habitat loss which stimulates the continuous extinction of a variety of species. For example, tropical rainforests are home to numerous amount of creatures ranging from tiny insects and rare plants to the extent of large predators like jaguars. Therefore, excessive cutting and damage that occurs to this habitat due to human activities such as deforestation, or natural forest fires will leave a wide range of organisms homeless, endangering their existence. Moreover, it will lead to an increase in the level of pollutants in the atmosphere, causing a lot of health-related issues. In conclusion, while the worsened impact of the loss of animals and plants is undoubted, focusing on the reasons that cause the enlargement of that problem, such as habitat loss, should be our initial approach to tackling such obstacles.