More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the advancement of technology, more people are receiving news through online mediums instead of traditional means, such as newspapers and TV programs. Despite some of the drawbacks, I still think this is a positive development. There are some reasons why I think this generally is a positive trend. Firstly, switching from newspapers to an online medium means doing the environment a favor. For example, if a person consumes even one newspaper per day, in total, it is still hundreds of pages of print a week. Reading newspapers would mean cutting down multiple trees and producing ink frequently just for one person's consumption. Secondly, receiving news through websites or online channels gives you more control as to what content you want to view. For example, if you only rely on one TV program for your daily dose of information, you will miss out on the news not covered for that channel, such as international or entertainment news. However, despite these benefits, there are still some considerations to be made when switching to an online news outlet. The first thing is that reading news online can be very distracting due to readers having complete control of the content that he or she reads. For example, many people go online just for a casual read but then find themselves deeply engaged in a discussion thread, thus wasting their time. Secondly, news on the Internet is unedited, which means that the sources of this type of information can be unverifiable. Many have fallen victim to fake news posted on the Internet. In conclusion, saving the environment and being in control of your content are the two main benefits of the development. However, proper censorship and advertisement control should be in use for the Internet news outlet.