Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, some have argued that the system of education has purely focused on raising individuals’ knowledge in diverse scientific matters, depriving them of practical learning. While I believe that some sciences require more learning in a scientific atmosphere, it would be better to provide practical learning alongside them, since it allows people to enhance their skills, namely business acumen, communication, and especially decision-making when facing a crisis. To begin, this approach contributes to people challenging their abilities in a realistic world, leading to recognition of their positive and negative points. These points yield individuals to strive to mitigate their disadvantageous features. The ripple effects created would often become a cycle of growth in their personal and professional life in the future. A salient example is a pharmacy degree in Iran, where universities have simply concentrated on learning in a scientific atmosphere, which has been causing severe problems for graduates; for instance, most of them cope with a lack of ability in the business world and mismanagement. Hence, focusing purely on learning facts hides individuals’ weaknesses, triggering a cycle of negligence. Furthermore, practical learning not only enhances students’ abilities but also makes it easier to learn by heart instead of rote memorisation, which promotes their critical thinking skills, which are truly invaluable. In addition, practical learning provides golden opportunities for individuals to see the results of their decisions in the realistic world. A pertinent example is Canada, where pharmacy students spend a lengthy course in governmental pharmacies to learn about various matters including inventory management, financial oversight, and patient consultation, all of which are essential skills for managing a drugstore. Thus, this method of learning provides worthwhile information and contributes to students learning more efficiently. To sum up, in my opinion, although in some fields we need to learn facts, it would be better to add practical learning to the curriculum, since this can pose potential benefits not only for students but also for the society they live in. Consequently, governments should change the curriculum of education and create a balance between factual learning and practical learning.