some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the rate of teenager's crimes has increased. Some people may have claimed that young criminals should be punished like adults. I understand that suggestion, however, I personally disagree with this because young people are able to improve by our assistance. Firstly, teenagers are more immature and inexperienced than adults. They don't have a standard of their behaviours which is right or wrong. If they have never experienced being taught by adults about bad things, they will likely commit crimes against their friends. For example, teachers in South Korea reported that students aren't aware that rubbing peers' things is a serious problem if they have not taught before. I understand their concerns, thus I suggest that rather than punishing teenagers, we need to give more chances to young people to improve themselves. Moreover, young people will lose their self-confidence if they get harsh punishment. Teenagers who committed crimes might be able to live as a criminal in the future even if they already had been punished. This will discourage a person's morale to live better which may detrimentally affect their will to improve. What I am concerned about is that they will commit crimes again in the future if they don't have any chance. Another concern is that our society can miss our future intelligent individuals which seems to have adverse effects on our future society. Therefore, giving teenagers who commit crimes opportunities rather than only punishing them, and assisting them to discover new talent, which could be beneficial in the long run. To sum up, I firmly disagree with giving harsh punishment to young people because they are still too young to be mature and it will discourage our future society. I believe we should encourage them more chance to improve their behaviours themselves.