There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays it seems more exams as a way to test and measure performance compared to step-by-step measuring performance. and this has its own positive and negative sides. To begin with, the positives I do believe it's an accurate way of measuring performance because every student will be asked the same questions and later ranked on their answer sheet and given the remarks they deserve. but this way puts lots of pressure on students, especially entry levels. so I think considering comparing between the two methods is the best way we can get. a fair way to measure students' performance and make sure they do not hate school systems. and they should get support and feel safe during their journey of learning. To conclude, even with more dependency on exams as a way of measuring performance, these days rather than other continual measure performance we should be aware of the positive and negative things that come from it.