In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

These days e- books have gained immense popularity all over the world. However, while some people believe this is a positive development others think it is negative. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of digital books. On the one hand, e- books have some benefits. Firstly, you can get instant access to an enormous amount of books without going to the library or book shops. Information is readily available on your phone. Secondly, e- books are portable due to the fact that a person can carry a library on a single device. Moreover, it is impossible to carry more than a few paper books. Additionally, e- books do not affect the environment owing to the fact, that it does not require a tree to create, making them eco-friendly. Besides, by choosing digital books, people can reduce paper consumption. On the other hand, e- books also have drawbacks. Firstly, long-term usage can lead to visual problems and can spoil a person's vision. That is to say, staring at the screen for long periods can cause eyestrain, and headaches and even disrupt your sleep if an individual reads before bedtime. Another disadvantage of digital books seems to be their lack of physicality. Furthermore, for many book lovers, a sensory experience has become an essential part of reading, such as feeling the weight of a traditional book, smelling the ink or hearing the rustle of turning pages. Finally, there is the issue of ownership. In addition, when a person purchases an e- book, this implies that you are buying a license to read the book, not the book itself. It is clear, it means that the retailer can take the e- book if they decide to. Taking everything into consideration, while digital books offer several advantages, there are also several drawbacks. In conclusion, I prefer traditional paper books because of the sensory experience.