Most countries spend large amount of money on weapons to defend themselves though they are not at war. Some believe those countries should spend the money to help poor countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Lots of people suppose that the authorities should spend money on assisting underdeveloped countries instead of spending on improving their military strength as they must not face any risks of war. In my view, I agree with this statement. On the one hand, there are several reasons why enhancing military power is very important to a nation, even in peacetime. Initially, a strong armed force plays a vital role not only in territorial superiority, but security and stability of a country. Because there is a great military will help that country have quick reactions against potential threats such as terrorist attacks and protect its territorial integrity from other countries. In addition, countries invest in weapons research and development can increase their profits by selling weapons to other nations. On the other hand, supporting impoverished countries to develop together is a humane and meaningful action. There are many countries struggling with poverty, starvation and lack of education. Therefore, if underdeveloped nations can receive assistance from wealthy countries, they will be able to resolve some problems such as poor living conditions, or food crisis... For instance, Germany, France, and United Kingdom help poor countries in Africa tackle the aforementioned problems and deter such issues from happening again. Furthermore, assisting impoverished countries will boost relationship, restrict conflict each other. As a result, these countries will decrease demand for weapons and live in peace. In conclusion, although there are plenty of countries investing a great deal of money on weapons even they are in peacetime, I suppose that assisting impoverished countries can bring greater advantages.