Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether those working in high-skilled occupations should be obliged to carry out their work in the same country where they completed their training. While this may mean that they might be able to find employment more easily, I would argue that giving the flexibility to work abroad helps nations who suffer from a shortage of workers, and permits such workers to potentially earn higher wages. Those who advocate that such professionals should remain in their country of origin point to the benefits that this would facilitate their ability to find a job as they would likely know the language, the system of the country, and other useful information that might help with their expertise in the job. As a result, this allows them for a much smoother transition between training and their employment, even though they might have acquired education in another, vastly different country. When they are able to enter the labour market at such a fast rate, this will consequently allow them to gain more experience more quickly, which is particularly useful given the long-training which such occupations require. For instance, following the collapse of the USSR, an organisation called TACIS trained the local populations of CIS countries to develop further their abilities. Consequently, in contrast to working in an alternative country, previous students will able to get a return on their hard work at a much faster pace as they will likely have more knowledge on the country's issues. However, I would argue that trained people should be granted permission to decide where to work as this can help countries suffering from labor shortages. Allowing freedom of movement for working people will mean that their invaluable knowledge and talent will be dispersed more evenly across countries. Therefore, they can contribute to various nations, despite their potentially different nationalities. This can as a result potentially lead to greater productivity in economies since such countries may lack the appropriate infrastructure to train these working people, namely less economically developed countries such as Kenya or where training might be unaffordable to poorer people in places like Switzerland. Consequently, this will allow the migrants with the qualifications to apply their knowledge in countries where it might be needed greatly, which will not just benefit one particular country but will therefore greatly help multiple countries. Furthermore, this greater flexibility of being able to choose the country they complete their tasks might allow them to earn higher wages in the long term. Contrary to the nation where they pursued their skills enhancement, this might be more desirable for them. This is why there is a high prevalence of international migration of Spanish doctors from Spain to Switzerland, even though Spain is considered to be a developed nation. Thus, I feel like this would be a more advantageous decision. Not only because their lengthy training will pay off more, but also because they will be likely be able to enjoy their job more as they will feel more secure about their future employment prospects. In conclusion, whilst the high-skilled professionals might indeed have greater employability in the country where they may have acquired their skills, I would argue that they shouldn't be restricted to where they work as it can benefit other nations who might be interested in accepting such workers and can allow them to earn higher wages in the long-term.