Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism, but others consider that tourism is the only way pf protecting a culture. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Whilst many think that attracting more tourism is the only way through which the culture of a nation can be protected, I believe that over- tourism would only spoil the local traditions and practices of a country if a culture is used to lure more tourists. To begin with, the argument in favour of people who claim that tourism acts as a shield to protect the culture of a country thinks that, in countries where cultural norms and traditions are becoming eroded, tourism would rejuvenate and revolutionise those traditions. Also, money that would be generated from visitors can be utilised to re-invest in various cultural sites and traditions for their maintenance. Moreover, local communities would feel respect and pride among tourists, and this would assist cultural exchange and understanding globally. On the contrary, I believe that, if culture would act as a way to promote tourism, then it could result in over- tourism and this would lead to damage to cultural sites. Apart from that, the commercialisation of culture could also impact the authenticity of traditions, and culture would only become a mere source of entertainment. Also, locals have to maintain their different cultural sites in order to please tourists, and this could be actually the loss of the true essence of heritage. Furthermore, tourism can also dilute and disturb the lives of local residents as they have to perform practices as per tourists. In conclusion, although using culture can entice tourists across the world, and the money generated can be used to maintain tourist places and can also revitalize forgotten traditions, I still agree that the negative consequences like life degradation of locals and damage to cultural places cannot be ignored.