Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries only existing online.

What are public libraries? Public libraries can be considered as a haven of knowledge. It is like a home where lovers of books, knowledge, and research go to immerse themselves in their habits and meet other like-minded people. Due to technological advancement, there has been a rising need to move public libraries from physical buildings to existing online. Below, I will list the advantages and disadvantages of these libraries existing online only. The first point to note is that the internet is a large world on its own. It is a tool that helps people connect through time and space. With a public library existing online, it means there is access from people around the globe. Readers and researchers can access books, journals, publications and all from their seat at home despite being in a different location. For example, a student researchng Chinese history at a university in Michigan can find relevant materials needed to complete their thesis by accessing an artcle listed by a library in China without the need to travel thousands of kilometres to China. Another advantage would be reduction in the cost of maintenance. For a public library, being housed in a building would require heavy costs some of which includes; the building rent iteself, purchase of books, and purchase of library equipments. They would require regular funding from NGOs, Charities, personal donations, and the government in some cases. All these can be reduced or totally avoided by making the library available online. However, despite being a good venture, we need to look at the cons. The first thing to consider would be the loss of employment. Many librarians are having to look for alternate career due to the advancement of internet libraries. You can get a book recommenation by googling what you need, whereby in a physical library, librarians are there to provide you with rich, personal information on books and historical facts. Secondly, warmth. When you walk into a library, the first thing that greets you is the warmth of walking into a rich atmosphere. You feel like you can find the answers to your questions if you look into the bookshelves long enough. This feeling cannot be found online. The library online is cold and impersonal unless you are in a study group but it does not eradicate the feeling of a one-on-one interaction with fellow readers and like minds in a physical library. In conclusion, there has to be a balance between the two. Physical libraries can be kept and preserved as a landmark which adds to the social and cultural heritage of an environment while online libraries can be made available for quick access and a testament to techinal advancement in the Knowledge and Research field.