Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some, young folks spend a lot of their valuable time in shopping malls. They feel that shopping keeps their life interesting and acts as a great stress buster. However, it can lead to many downside effects not only for them but also for society. Hence, I support the claim that excessive spending on malls leads to negative effects and I the have following reasons to support my stance. To begin with, young adults use shopping as a means to show their wealth. As a result, they try to spend excessively and in some cases, spend from credit as well, just to prove their status. This can lead to excessive borrowing and may lead to financial trouble for them, if it is unchecked. Such folks inorder to repay their debt can engage in many anti-social activities like theft, which can ruin their own career. For instance, in countries like India, growing trend of theft among youths have been reported recently and it's because of their youths thronging malls for a longer time. Moreover, malls are loaded with many movie attractions, fast food shops and eateries. Thus, a person entering such buildings, cannot keep track of their time and wanders aimlessly. They spend majority of their time eating un-healthy junk foods while doing window shopping. This practises can make them not only fat but also creates unknown side-effects in their body. In fact in many countries, malls are the main reason for fast foods addiction among the school and college students. So to conclude, though malls provide much-needed breather for both students and working populations, it can create problems like excessive spending, un-healthy eating habits etc among younger generation. Hence, in my opinion, such entertainment places create more negative effects than the positive ones for the young people in society and therefore the government should implement stringent policies to limit their time spent on mall.