Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The vast majority of people nowadays are exploring new options that relate to their health concerns. Various options are being explored by people to tackle their health issues which they experiment on themselves using herbal treatments, food extractions and generally alternative medicine. Although everything has its advantages and disadvantages, this article explores why I am inclined to agree that this worrying trend needs to be analysed thoroughly. Patients seeking people who claim they have expertise in herbal medicine, usually have a strong mindset and high expectations relating to results. Therefore, many patients can become easily agitated toward herbal medicine, and eventually, they might seek medical doctors to get properly treated. Many reasons explain why a patient should trust their medical doctors with the management plan more. Firstly, medical doctors have had a well-structured curriculum based on evidence-based medicine in which mist treatment are guaranteed efficacy, and has well-known side effects mostly. On the other hand, the use of alternative medicine is usually based on subjective opinions that have not been studied before. Moreover, adverse effects could happen even if all the ingredients used are natural. Secondly, most patient care has to be tailored to each patient's needs and based on the history and physical examination of the patient's management plan will be created. For instance, some components that are effective in creams and ointments have strong potency and wrong use of these creams will result in hyperpigmentation, erythema and hypersensitivity. In conclusion, there are many reasons beyond measures that have the power to change the cultural overview of most patients on alternative medicine. It is recommended to increase awareness of all the reasons why it is important to visit a medical doctor and to not be immersed in myths that have not been studied properly.