Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Regardless of age, some countries allow older individuals to work in both the private and government sectors. I contend that while enabling older generations to work offers significant opportunities for knowledge transfer between older and younger professionals, there are also some drawbacks. First and foremost, certain individuals who are over the retirement age still refuse to settle at home. Instead, they display an aspiration to work for many years to come at certain jobs. Some of these people are equipped with tremendous experience and background knowledge in specific works which sometimes brings about revolutionizing solutions targeted towards overcoming the most intricate problems encountered at their organizations. Consequently, such magical touches result in revenue surplus, cost savings and efficiency increases in the workplace. Another obvious advantage of letting senior employees work stems from their existing economic situation and the difficulties that they are enduring. Unfortunately, either to support their families or the worsening life circumstances compel the members of the old generation to keep working although they have already passed the retirement age threshold. By giving these people an opportunity to work, they will be able to help their families set up better living conditions as well as s seek a feeling of gratification in the sacrifice that they have made for their loved ones to combat poverty. On the other hand, from the sustainability of the workforce standpoint, by not regulating the working age limit in workplaces, countries are also creating a big gap in the employment rate between old and young generations. For example, in Japan, there is no mandatory retirement age in the general workforce, thus, allowing the ageing population to work for an unconditional time period, further widening this employment gap. Therefore, a number of young talents with more energy and passion remain unemployed due to the shortage of work in the labour market, disrupting the market dynamics and causing inefficiency. In conclusion, whilst having no working age limit imposed on the ageing population is utterly important and beneficial to the society and country, some countries record negative results in the downward employment rates in younger working groups. Bearing in mind all the aforementioned reasons, I think the advantages of this trend outweigh its demerits.