In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

For many people in some countries, homeownership is considered a more significant achievement than renting one. There are 3 main reasons, in my opinion, why this might be the case. Firstly, owning a home rather than renting one is more necessary for people because of its stability. Homeownership brings people safe feelings and sustainable stability. They don’t have to worry about the increase of housing costs or being issued a notice to vacate by their landlord. Moreover, owning a home usually makes them feel a sense of security and stability, so they could concentrate on other aspects, such as their occupation, family or their habits. Most of my friends said that they had achieved a sense of contentment and fulfilment when they owned a home. Secondly, in some countries, the real estate prices tends to rise over time. Therefore, purchasing a home seems to be a way to invest and accumulate for the future. When buying a home or paying off the home loan, the value of the home belongs to the owner, gives him or her a large fortune to enjoy the golden years. For example, in Vietnam, the real estate prices have increased 10% annually since 2018. Last but not least, when owning a home, owner could independently renovate and decorate the home without following the landlord’s regulations as when renting. According to a research of Havard university, people owning a home tend to feel happier and more satisfied than the others who rent a home or a flat. According to the reasons I have mentioned already, I personally think this is a positive situation. People need to work hard to own a home and that would promote the development of society.