Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Higher education attendance, undoubtedly, has been a vital determinant of economic growth. However, the costs of attending university, which have escalated in recent years, have engendered some valid concerns. A school of thought holds that students, irrespective of their financial status, should be entitled to free university. This essay is going to prove that subsidizing college education will do more harm than good. It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that students should be allowed to pursue college without fees. Proponents of tuition exemption may argue that this practice will enable more students, especially the disadvantaged, to pursue tertiary education, which is conducive to their employment opportunities. However, this thinking is flawed, since the larger influx of graduates into the labour market is actually a primary driving force behind the rising youth unemployment. Therefore, is apparent that wholly subsidizing tertiary education is counter-productive to job guarantee. Another pronounced drawback is that the abolition of university tuition may take a toll on students ’ academic performance. As today most undergraduates have to pay for their education, they are inclined to study in earnest and apply themselves to getting good grades. Therefore, were this financial obligation to be dispensed with, students could be indifferent to their study and lose the drive to work hard. For example, they may skip classes or miss exams because they feel that failing does not cost them anything. These behaviors obviously may lead to deteriorating performance and students would fail to benefit from their education. In conclusion, I believe that alloting allocating state funding to make university free of charge does not seem a good idea.