All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but other think having a range of subject is better for a children's future.

Education and developing skills are crucial in a student's life. Some people argue that technical and non-technical expertise should be educated at schools while others advocate that a variety of modules is essential for pupils' future. In this essay, I will explore both views and assert why I opt for schools to concentrate on developing skills. On the one hand, all human beings expect their offspring to be well-educated, thus they want a certain list of modules to be covered during primary and secondary level education because parents have a perception that students who perform well in school can enter the best universities to pursue their tertiary education. For instance, in India, students who scored more than a certain amount of marks can be qualified for the best medical colleges. On the other hand, proponents of prioritizing skills argue that expertise such as communication, leadership, entrepreneurship, and critical thinking are not only helping to foster students to become mature and decreasing their mental stress and encouraging them to concentrate on various things other than studying to become a successful human being. For example, nowadays most companies prefer employees to adapt to various soft skills although they obtain better grades in exams. In conclusion, while arguments exist to prioritize a set of modules and adapt youngsters to concentrate more on developing abilities, I strongly suggest that students must not always be learning general regular subjects and be exposed to non-technical qualities to be a better person of themselves to associate and cooperate with the competitive world.