NOWADAYS, MORE AND MORE PEOPLE DECIDE TO HAVE CHILDREN LATER IN THEIR LIFE. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THİS TREND OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

There is a trend these days for the married couple to delay the child's birth. This phenomenon has its own pros and cons. While there are some advantages of having a settled life before parentage, I believe the drawbacks of financial and health issues are more important to consider before making such decisions. On the one hand, some folks would like to have a better education and a stable job before opting for kids.It is because of the fact that parenting involves a lot of finances and is a physically challenging job.If a person is struggling to excel in his education or career, he will definitely not want to have children because that would require much of his attention, which he will not be able to provide. For instance, many doctors in my country marry at a later stage after doing specialization, as the residency of postgraduate fellows is quite demanding and it is difficult to manage both married life and training at the same time. On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to delaying parenthood.One of the major downsides is that of the health of the mother and the child.It has been proven in medical research that the increased age of the mother can cause gestational complications as well as deformities in a baby like Down's syndrome and other congenital malformations. In addition, the older parents having a newborn would pose many financial and physical challenges. This would mean that, when individuals have retired with no monthly income, the child would still be school-going and dependent on the guardians for tuition fees and other expenses. Moreover, mothers would not be very active at an advanced age to groom their offspring in a better way. In conclusion, there are arguments in favour and against the decision to have children at a later stage. While it has some benefits with regard to better employment prospects, in my opinion, the detriments of medical problems for the family and the economic hardships in maturity outweigh some of its positive aspects.