With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

Oil and gas have been the most prominent sources of energy for various industries like automobiles, electricity production, etc. In recent times, there has been a significant increase in the global demand for oil and gas. The increasing demand but limited supply of oil and gas is popularizing the idea that the undiscovered parts of the world should be explored to get more access to these resources. Although I agree that these undiscovered areas might prove to be a great resource for oil and gas, at the same, it can be detrimental to our earth’s natural diversity. These undiscovered areas may be a rich source of oil and gas, but until they are explored, their potential will remain ruled out. Middle Eastern countries were once an undiscovered resource of oil, but now they are global leaders in oil supply. Researchers and scientists can do their studies and tests to see if these undiscovered areas can be mined for oil and gas. In case they are successful, it will help to deal with the ever-increasing global need. On the contrary, these activities might affect mother nature which can be extremely harmful. Exploiting new undiscovered areas can further pollute our environment which in itself is a big problem for the modern world. For instance, part of the exploring process will be cutting down trees. As history has taught us, toying with nature can lead to big disasters which we shall avoid at all costs. To conclude, although opening up these undiscovered areas may help with the current problem of shortage of oil and gas, we should start looking for other renewable energy sources as alternatives like solar energy, wind energy, and more. It will help us to build a better and sustainable world for our future generations.