Some people believe that the internet is increasing the gap between the rich and poor, while others argue that it helps to reduce this gap. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The internet is a useful tool which has changed the world dramatically. There is debate going on about whether this development has increased the gap between the rich and poor or not. This essay will discuss both these views and give my own opinion on them. The starting cost of the World Wide Web is expensive which may not be affordable in some places. Firstly, the government needs to build underground tunnels so businesses can establish the network system. For underdeveloped countries, for example, Africa, they don't have the capital and resources for that, so even today, their local people still do not have the access of the Internet. As a result, places whose governments can afford to develop this technology, like Britain and the United States, become wealthier while poor ones, for example, Africa, remain poor which widens the financial gap between them. From my point of view, this problem can be solved if there is financial support or subsidy given to these poor societies. Despite the high expenses, the Internet brings economic benefits to the world. In my opinion, the internet has been very helpful in fighting poverty. Since information is easily accessible through the net, the world ’s citizens can learn new knowledge and skills every day. For example, people around the world can learn about the new exploration on the moon immediately after NASA posted them on their website. People, especially those from underdeveloped countries, can learn from the good and bad experiences of others and use the lessons they learnt to improve their own lives, living standard, and even their society. In conclusion, if organizations or developed countries can provide financial help to the poor to set up their internet network, they will have the ability to fight against poverty on their own. As a result, we will have a better world where its wealth is evenly distributed.