More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

There is a trend these days for people from counytryside to shift to bigger towns for better job prospects. This essay will first discuss the potential outcomes of this development on the national agricultural revenue generation and overcrowding of cities and then will offer viable solutions including rural development and providing incentives to the farmers. Firstly, the migration of villagers to cities is causing nations to lose their profits from agriculture.If the skilled people leave the profession of farming then there will be less production of crops in the region which will be barely sufficient to sustain the local population. However, it will not be enough for export to other countries thus causing a major drop in the government exchequer. For instance, Pakistan was an agricultural country in 1960s with 70 percent of its land devoted for farming and earned a lot of profit by selling wheat to other nations but now with urbanization it has to import wheat from its neighbours. In addition, the influx of migrants to metropolitans result in overcrowding of these areas. This leads to traffic congestion and air pollution of these regions. In order to tackle with this phenomenon, the governments should provide more facilities in the village areas. This means that availability of hotels and shopping malls in the countryside will create more job opportunities for locals. Moreover, provision of subsidy to the farm workers will motivate them to continue working in their profession. This way, they can have enough budget to look after their families and do their jobs religiously. For instance, the government of India gave a relief to its farmers in 2015 by providing fertilizers free of cost which doubled its wheat exports in three years. In conclusion, the relocation of villagers to metropolis for good employment will have a detrimental effect on a nation's economy and will also cause the industrial hubs to be overcrowded with a polluted atmosphere.The practical approach to this quagmire would be to reward the countrymen who are doing farming with money and by providing civic facilities in their hometowns.