In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

It is argued that pursuing study in another country gives more benefits rather than studying in their own country. This essay will elaborate on the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad. On the one hand, studying abroad requires some degree of effort and sacrifice. If someone wants to study in other countries, they have to master English language as the basic requirement. In order to get this certificate, a large amount of money is needed. In some cases, many student failed to achieve the score that they need. Therefore, they may spend more than a year to get their target score. There are many students from developing countries who spend their budget to take English courses such as IELTS and TOEFL. Indeed, this requirement also will take their free time. Sometimes, they should take an official test of more than one. However, studying in a different country will enrich their experience. Indonesian Students who take PhD programs in Australia, for example, could improve their understanding of Indonesian problems since they live far away from their own country. In addition, they would benefit from international networks that would be useful when they return to Indonesia, which means that this connection would contribute not only to their job but also to the institutions where they are employed. In conclusion, even though studying abroad requires a certain degree of effort and sacrifices, the benefit is larger because this opportunity leads students to expand their knowledge about their home countries and broaden their connection with people across the globe.