Directors and managers of organizations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Top management, for example, directors and managers, play an important role in monitoring businesses and making the right decisions. People who are suitable for these positions should have sufficient technical knowledge as well as managing skills. Nowadays, organisations’ leaders are often older people. However, some people comment that it is better to have young leaders. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why I agree that young people should be leaders. First, it is challenging for older people to work with people from younger generations since their thought processes and logic are completely different due to changes in environment and technological development. Also, they value different things. To give a clear example, when it comes to decision-making time, older leaders tend to choose low-risk choices, even though they take more time. Meanwhile, young leaders can accept the higher risk, so they will pick the most efficient option. Second, young leaders have up-to-date information which is useful for businesses in the modern world. On the other hand, older leaders stick with the traditional way of working and thinking. There are new technologies that have been developed in recent years. It would be beneficial for the organisation to implement those tools in operations. For example, we can utilise an artificial intelligence program when we want to find information on certain topics. The program will generate structured answers and references for us. To sum up, there are many advantages of having young leaders such as better teamwork and efficient ways of working. From the reasons above, I agree that young people should be leaders.