Countries should produce enough food for their own population and import as little as possible. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most countries send their products such as foods to another countries, but some argues that the government should transfer it as little as possible. Although producing enough food has own advantages, however, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement because I suppose it helps the government, and I will examine and explain it. First of all, some country makes money from selling the food to another country and this may leads to improve economics. For example, Iran is one of the most powerful country in having full of rice and saffaron. It transfers to another country and sell it more expensive and it is one way of get income. Thus, if the government is able to produce more food and transfer it to another country, it will probably make benefits form that. Secondly, we can save our natural resource for future and reduce air pollution. For instance, every watermeloon needs 10L water to grow and produce 5Kg Carbon Dioxid, so that some country like Dubai do not plant it and transfer from other country because they encounter with lack of water and avoid to pollute air. Therefore, every country must be conservation about every food's equipment to avoid damage their resources. In conclusion, transferring foods not only neccessarily necessary, however, it may cause economical benefits and maintain natural resources for future.