More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of difficulties of living in city. How can government make urban life better for everyone?

Nowadays, a significant increase in migrants to cities with a hope of better settlement is a big concern for societies around the world. The shortage of well-paid jobs in rural communities compels workers to immigrate to megacities with the purpose of better earnings for living. Unfortunately, job vacancies offered by manufacturing and service businesses require proficiency qualifications from applicants and the cost of living in general extremely high compared with their low incomes. I believe that two of the major causes for difficulty in city settlement are job opportunities and extremely high cost of real estate. However, central governments have also developed a number of long-term effective solutions to save the situation. Many jobs in downtown require a wide range of skills and the job vacancies for which applicants apply also require experience. In addition, urbanites often take precedence over suburbanites thanks to their permanent resident addresses. Businesses often take the strength and sustainability of human resources into consideration when they publicly advertise for job vacancies therefore they do not give a preference to commuters. For instance, A couple of years ago, after graduating from National Economics University and Hanoi University for Foreign Language Studies, I applied for a job at the Luxembourg Agency for Cooperation and Development funded by the Luxemburg Government. I believe that I will be qualified for the job offer since did a great job answering every single question in English during the interview and completed the perfect paper test. Sadly, I was informed not to be accepted due to the requirements for a Permanent Residency Address in Hanoi. Recently, the Vietnamese central government has made an amendment to the Residence Law – Removal of Permanent Residency Address Act that comes into effect from 1st January 2023 which will create more chances and more equality in job opportunities among job seekers. This disadvantage is one of two causes leading to difficulty in settlement in cities. Like other residents, suburbanites also expect to afford accommodation near their workplaces to minimize the daily travelling time but the housing price is extremely high. Most real-estate companies only prefer to invest their money in building residential zones with luxury houses under the high demand of the employees at the high-income threshold as they always consider opportunity cost to bring maximum profit to their businesses. Being fully aware of the imbalance in housing provision in megacities, central governments have introduced a wide range of sustainable livelihood approaches. One of those is to subsidize real-estate businesses to build low-cost social housing which enables the group of workers having low income to afford. This solution not only helps build more social homes but also demonstrates their commitment to manufacturing businesses in terms of workforce provision. In conclusion, settlement in a big city is never easy for anyone from rural areas. I am strongly convinced that job opportunities and housing prices are two elements that emigrants must be highly perceptive to meet the requirements of businesses and market prices. Also, governments’ intervention in issuing different policies and supplying social housing are integral factors in ensuring equality of opportunity in all areas.