You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the problem of endangered animals is getting serious. In this essay, I am going to discuss the major reasons for this and what can be done to alleviate this problem. Human activities are the major cause of animal extinction. In order to construct facilities, like residential buildings, roads, and transportation systems, to improve people's living standards, governments are cutting down trees and demolishing the mountains which causes hundreds of thousands of animals to lose their habitat. As a result, they may migrate to a nearby human city where they may be killed by car accidents. In addition, some wildlife can only survive in specific weather and temperatures. However, climate change and global warming, which are caused by the pollution caused by human activities, have made the environment unsuitable for their living. As a result, we are the only solution to change this situation. In order to tackle this problem, there are several approaches governments and individuals can take. First of all, governments should set up conservation areas around the environment where endangered species live. Therefore, the natural habitat and the species there can be protected and reproduced without any distraction from human interruption. On the other hand, individuals should increase their environmental awareness. As an Earth citizen, we can save wild animals with small changes, starting from using more public transportation than driving and doing more recycling. If everyone takes part in lessening the pollution, we can slow down, or even stop, the climate change. City development and human activities are the main killers of extinct animals. In order to save them, governments and individuals can work together to fight against pollution and provide a safe home for animals.