In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driveless vehicles outweight the disadvantages?

It has been pointed out that all vehicles, including cars, buses and trucks, will be driven by systems and machines in the near future, and passengers will be the only human beings in vehicles. Personally, I opine that self-driving will lead to a serious social issue compared to the minor benefit which it might bring. Admittedly, driverless cars could contribute more comfort and ease to people’s lives. This is because when driverless cars become a common trend, exhausted and overworked individuals no longer need to drive, which helps them save energy and time. The saved time which was spent on driving can be used in other areas, such as taking a rest or catching up with loved ones, thus leading to a comfortable lifestyle. For instance, a huge number of professionals who are driving a vehicle on their daily commutes mention that they are incredibly expecting the production of driverless vehicles as they are able to conduct work tasks when a robot is driving, which provides them with a moderate number of hours that they can use to spend with their families, thus making their lives more comfortable and easier. Nevertheless, despite the benefits above, the development of self-driving technology is a significant repercussion to social stability. The reason is that there are a massive majority of drivers in a country if vehicle automation becomes a common situation gradually, those who are working as a driver will lose their jobs, which will increase the amount of unemployment in our society, thus causing disharmony within society. As an illustration, a Chinese political leader states that there are three million drivers in China now, and 70% of them are in their mid-forties or fifties. When autonomous driving becomes common, all drivers will lose their jobs at the same time, which will cause huge pressure on the local government, thus harming social stability tremendously. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about whether the benefits of self-driving technology exceed the drawbacks, while I am of the opinion that the development of autonomous driving will be an awful detriment regarding social harmony, which definitely surpasses the minor advantage that it might lead to.